Author photo


AZGFC Announces Recipients Of 2023 Commission Awards

Arizona Game and Fish Commission Announced 16 Recipients Of The 2023 Commission Awards


October 1, 2023

PHOENIX - The Arizona Game and Fish Commission announced 16 recipients of the 2023 Commission Awards at its Sept. 8 meeting in Greer, Ariz. The awards recognize Arizonans who have contributed significantly to the conservation of the state's wildlife, its outdoor heritage, and the mission of the Arizona Game and Fish Department.

This year's recipients are -

Award of Excellence – Sheriff David Rhodes, Yavapai County and Sheriff Jim Driscoll, Coconino County

Youth Conservationist of the Year – Charles Smalley

Media of the Year – Henry Brean

Conservation Organization of the Year – White Mountain Apache Tribe

Conservationist of the Year – Troy Christensen

Natural Resource Professional of the Year – Mike Hannemann

Volunteer of the Year – Jim Lawrence

Educator of the Year – Fred Cohill

Mentor of the Year – Kevin Rapkoch

Advocate of the Year (State) – Senator Sine Kerr

Advocate of the Year (Federal) – Senator Kyrsten Sinema

Business Partner of the Year – OneAZ Credit Union

Buck Appleby Hunter Education Instructor of the Year – Ken Ford

Wildlife Habitat Steward of the Year – Josiah Austin

North American Model Commissioner's Award – Micah White

The awards will be presented at the Commission's Annual Awards Banquet on Saturday, Jan. 20, 2024, at the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, Highland Plaza, 11111 N. 7th Street in Phoenix.

The first Commission Awards event was held in January 1991. Since then, nearly 400 recipients have been recognized for their dedicated work toward securing Arizona's wildlife for generations to come.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024