Times Spent Outdoors: Priceless!

2016 Commission Awards: Congratulations

Banquet To Honor Contributors To Wildlife, Outdoor Heritage

The annual Arizona Game and Fish Commission Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, Jan. 14, 2017, at the Arizona Grand Resort, 8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, Arizona 85044. The event will honor the recipients of the 2016 Commission Awards that were selected at the Commission’s August 26 meeting.

The purpose of these awards is to recognize Arizonans who have contributed significantly to the conservation of the state's wildlife, its outdoor heritage, and the mission of the Arizona Game and Fish Department.

The banquet will begin with a social hour and live music at 5 p.m. followed by dinner at 6 p.m. The awards will be presented concurrently with dinner to allow for more live music and dancing afterward. We are looking forward to a great celebration of all our award recipients and are expecting this to be our best banquet ever.

The Arizona Game and Fish Commission held its first annual awards banquet on Jan. 12, 1991. Since then, a total of 361 recipients have been recognized with Commission awards. The awards banquet gives the Commission an opportunity to recognize individuals, groups and organizations for their contributions to Arizona’s wildlife resources.

All of the costs associated with the awards banquet must be paid for by ticket sales and sponsorship donations, including the complimentary tickets for award recipients and their spouse or guest. Table Sponsorships for organizations are available in several categories and include a table in the organization's name, logo advertisement in the event program, recognition in the introductory PowerPoint presentation and event press release, and banquet tickets.

2015 Award Recipients

Award of Excellence: Sonoran Sky Elementary

Youth Environmentalist of the Year: Matteo Bailloux

Outdoor Writer of the Year: Jim and Carol Allen, Western Outdoor Times

Media of the Year: Arizona Antelope Foundation

Conservation Organization of the Year: Mule Deer Foundation

Conservationist of the Year: Jim Lawrence

Natural Resource Professional of the Year: Gloria Tom

Volunteer of the Year: Robbie Love

Educator of the Year: Karen Klein

Mentor of the Year: Steve Sams

Advocate of the Year - State: Senator Gail Griffin

Advocate of the Year – Federal: Don McDowell

Business Partner of the Year: Linda Morgan, Yuma Visitors Bureau

Buck Appleby Hunter Education Instructor of the Year: Bobby Goitia

Wildlife Habitat Steward of the Year: Bill Cordasco

North American Model Commissioners Award: Celeste Cook


Reader Comments(0)

Rendered 06/23/2024 16:07