Author photo


AZGFC 2017 Commission Awards

AZGFC Honors Arizonans Who Contribute To Our Outdoor Heritage


December 1, 2017

The annual Arizona Game and Fish Commission Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, Jan. 13, 2018, at the Point Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, 11111 N. 7th Street, Phoenix, Ariz. The event will honor the recipients of the 2017 Commission Awards that were selected at the Commission's Sept. 8 meeting.

The purpose of these awards is to recognize Arizonans who have contributed significantly to the conservation of the state's wildlife, its outdoor heritage, and the mission of the Arizona Game and Fish Department.

The banquet will begin with a social hour and live music at 5 p.m. followed by dinner at 6 p.m. The awards will be presented concurrently with dinner to allow for more live music and dancing afterward.

We are looking forward to a great celebration of all our award recipients and are expecting this to be our best banquet ever. The cost is $65 per individual.

First In 1991

The Arizona Game and Fish Commission held its first annual awards banquet on Jan.12, 1991. Since then, a total of 374 recipients have been recognized with Commission awards. The awards banquet gives the Commission an opportunity to recognize individuals, groups and organizations for their contributions to Arizona's wildlife resources.

All of the costs associated with the awards banquet must be paid for by ticket sales and sponsorship donations, including the complimentary tickets for award recipients and their spouse or guest. Table sponsorships for organizations are available in several categories and include a table in the organization's name, logo advertisement in the event program, recognition in the introductory PowerPoint presentation and event press release.

And, The Winners Are -

Award of Excellence: Lake Havasu Marine Association

Youth Environmentalist of the Year: Chase Godbehere

Media of the Year: (2) Kim Quintero and the National Veterans Magazine

Conservation Organization of the Year: Phoenix Varmint Callers, Inc.

Conservationist of the Year: Clyde Weakley

Natural Resource Professional of the Year: Erica Stewart

Volunteer of the Year: Ron Adams

Educator of the Year: Michael Eilertsen

Mentor of the Year: Justin Stewart

Advocate of the Year – State: Governor Doug Ducey

Advocate of the Year – Federal: Senator Jeff Flake

Business Partner of the Year: OneAZ Credit Union

Buck Appleby Hunter Education Instructor of the Year: John and Linda Vedo

Wildlife Habitat Steward of the Year: Double O Ranch

North American Model Commissioners Award: Luke Thompson


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024