Author photo


Maryellen Ferring Repeats As Ruth Beals Champ


December 1, 2015

The Skippers: from left, Cindy Pillote, Kylie Jenkins, Maryellen Ferring, and Suzette Bush

Maryellen Ferring gets to keep the Ruth Beals trophy for another year.

The trophy goes to the winner of the annual Ruth Beals Regatta, which celebrates women in sailing. The rules permit a male as crew, but a woman has to be on the helm of the one-design Capri 14.2 boats.

This year Maryellen and Mike Ferring managed to score three bullets and a second place to beat Cindy Pillote (with Wilson Davis), Kylie Jenkins (with Chad Hargrove), and Suzette and John Bush.

Many thanks to Fleet Captain Steve Brown for serving as PRO and Tony Chapman and Larry Green for helping out.


Race 1 2 3 4 Total

Maryellen Ferring 1 1 2 1 5

Cindy Pillote 2 3 1 2 8

Suzette Bush 3 4 4 3 14

Kylie Jenkins 5 DNS 3 4 14


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 05/12/2024 19:51