Times Spent Outdoors: Priceless!

Congratulations, Margie Anderson!

Arizona Game & Fish 2015 Awards Announced

Editor's Note: All of us at Arizona Boating & Watersports/Western Outdoor Times congratulate our Outdoor Editor Margie Anderson on her third win of the Arizona Game & Fish Commission's award for Outdoor Writer of the Year. We are especially honored to have her on our editorial staff, along with Don McDowell (our Sportfishing editor) of Shake, Rattle, and Troll Radio who has received the Media of the Year award twice: in 2012 and 2014. It has been our honor also to receive the Media of the Year award two times: in 2008 and in 2013. Thank you to the Commission and to all those who sent in nominations.

The annual Arizona Game and Fish Commission Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, Jan. 16, 2016, at the Arizona Grand Resort, 8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, Arizona 85044. The event will honor the recipients of the 2015 Commission Awards that were selected at the Commission's September 4 meeting (see below).

The purpose of these awards is to recognize Arizonans who have contributed significantly to the conservation of the state's wildlife, its outdoor heritage, and the mission of the Arizona Game and Fish Department.

The social hour begins at 5:00 p.m. followed by dinner and the awards ceremony. The cost is $65 per individual.

The Arizona Game and Fish Commission held its first annual awards banquet on January 12, 1991. Since then, a total of 344 recipients have been recognized with Commission awards. The awards banquet gives the Commission an opportunity to recognize individual and organizational award recipients for their contributions to Arizona's wildlife resources.

All of the costs associated with the awards banquet must be paid for by ticket sales and sponsorship donations, including the complimentary tickets for award recipients and their spouse or guest. Table Sponsorships for organizations are available in several categories and include a table in the organization's name, logo advertisement in the event program, recognition in the introductory PowerPoint presentation and event press release, and banquet tickets.

Congratulations To All 2015 Recipients

Award of Excellence: Hildy Angius

Award of Excellence: Mark Brnovich

Youth Environmentalist of the Year: KJ Aldridge

Outdoor Writer of the Year: Margaret Anderson

Media of the Year: Rosie Romero Jr.

Conservation Organization of the Year: Heritage Park Zoological Sanctuary

Conservationist of the Year: Steve Clark

Natural Resource Professional of the Year: Ray Suazo

Volunteer of the Year: Chad Villamor

Educator of the Year: Melanie Engstrom

Mentor of the Year: Richard Williams

Advocate of the Year - State: David Gowan Sr., Speaker of the House

Advocate of the Year – Federal: Senator John McCain

Buck Appleby Hunter Education Instructor of the Year: Patrick Headington

Wildlife Habitat Steward of the Year: Spider Ranch

North American Model Commissioners Award: Carol Lynde


Reader Comments(0)