Times Spent Outdoors: Priceless!

American Sportfishing Association Elects Board of Directors Members

Industry Leaders Bring Talent, Experience And Perspective

Alexandria, VA – July 8, 2015 - Six members of the American Sportfishing Association (ASA) were elected or re-elected to fill three regional seats and three at-large seats on the board of directors. Their terms begin October 1, 2015, and they will serve two-year terms. ASA’s board members may serve three, consecutive two-year terms.

Regional seats went to:

South Central Region – Jeff Pontius, president, ZEBCO Brands, Tulsa, Oklahoma (reelected)

Southeast Region – Aledia Hunt Tush, president, CB’s Saltwater Outfitters, Sarasota, Florida (reelected)

West Region – Ken Elie, president, Outdoor Pro Shops, Inc., Cotati, California (new board member)

Jeff Pontius Aledia

Hunt Tush Ken Elie

At-Large seats went to:

Peter Foley, president, Boone Bait Company, Inc., Winter Park, Florida

Paul Schluter, president, St. Croix Rods, Park Falls, Wisconsin (reelected)

Gary Zurn, senior vice president, Industry Relations, Big Rock Sports, Newport, North Carolina (reelected)

Peter Foley Paul Schluter Gary Zurn

"We’ve got a great mix of talent, experience and perspective with the new and re-elected board of directors members who will compliment an already impressive group of individuals," said Mike Nussman, ASA president and CEO. "The members of the American Sportfishing Association will be well-served by these dynamic leaders, industry veterans and steadfast advocates for the sportfishing industry. I look forward to working with everyone and thank them for their time and support.”

“I also want to thank Nick Wiley, executive director for the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission for his service and counsel as a board member,” noted Nussman. “We look forward to working with Dave Chanda, director of the New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife, who will represent the state fish and wildlife agencies on our board.”

Pontius, a current ASA board member and former board Chairman, was reelected to serve his second, two-year term. Pontius, a long-time ASA supporter, plans to bring his knowledge and experience to the board and the association to help increase the trade show’s momentum and champion fishing against those who threaten the sport. Hunt Tush, a current ASA board member, was reelected to serve her third, two-year term. As a retail member, Hunt Tush has a particular interest in ensuring healthy fisheries and growing the sport. Elie, who owns a West coast retail business, is an active ASA member and trade show supporter. He wants to bring his experience to the board so “my grandkids have the same opportunities to become avid anglers as I had growing up.”

Foley, who served numerous terms on ASA’s board, including Chairman of the Board (1984-1986) and many years as Treasurer, was elected to serve another two-year term. His company, Boone Bait Company, has been an association member for 63 years. He has a keen interest in ensuring the association’s fiscal health as ASA continues its work on behalf of the industry. Schluter was reelected to his third, two-year term. He wants to continue to see the trade show grow and do what he can to preserve anglers’ rights to sustainably fish on our nation’s public waterways. Zurn was reelected to his third, two-year term. In his twelve years with the association, Zurn has served on the board and Executive Committee and has served on or chaired numerous ASA committees. Overall, he wants to help ensure the association’s financial and professional growth and to help protect the industry and recreational fishing from unwarranted closures and restrictions.

The current members of the Board of Directors are:, Dave Bulthuis, Costa, Chairman; Gregg Wollner, Rapala, Immediate Past Chairman; Kirk Immens, Sportco Marketing, Vice Chairman; Donn Schaible, Wright & McGill, Treasurer; Louis Chemi, Navico, Secretary; Terry Pederson, Daiwa Corporation, At-large; Thom Dammrich, National Marine Manufacturers Association; Martin MacDonald, Bass Pro Shops; Chris Megan, On the Water, LLC; Dave Pfeiffer, Shimano American Corporation; Jeff Pontius, ZEBCO Brands; Gary Remensnyder, Lew’s Fishing Tackle; Paul Schluter, St. Croix Rods; Aledia Hunt Tush, CB’s Saltwater Outfitters; K. C. Walsh, Simms Fishing Products; Dave Chanda, New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife ; and Gary Zurn, Big Rock Sports, LLC. Ex-officio members are: Peter Foley, Boone Bait Company; Kenneth Hammond, The Hammond Group; Tom Rolls, Cabela’s.


Reader Comments(0)