Times Spent Outdoors: Priceless!

Yarnell Hill Memorial Site Board Meets Feb. 27

The donations site for the memorial fund is now online.

The Yarnell Hill Memorial Site Board's next meeting will be on Friday, Feb. 27, 2015 at 3 p.m. It will be held at the Yavapai County Administrative Services Building at 1015 Fair Street in Prescott. The public is invited and the agenda for this meeting will be posted at the new Web site for the Memorial Fund: http://Yarnellhillmemorialfund.org.

The Yarnell Hill Memorial Site Board has now launched the Web site that is able to receive online donations. The site also contains information about the Site Board including a list of its members, the legislation, meeting schedules and agendas.

The Arizona Legislature passed House Bill 2624, the Yarnell Hill Memorial Site Board, and signed by Governor Jan Brewer. The bill set aside $500,000 for the purchase of State Trust Land at the deployment site in Yarnell. The land would be designated for a memorial for the 19 Granite Mountain Hotshots who died in the Yarnell Hill Fire on June 30, 2013.

The Yarnell Hill Memorial Site Board oversees the program and Arizona State Parks administers State funds and any donations. The members of the Memorial Site Committee include Executive Director of Arizona State Parks Bryan Martyn (Chairman), Representative Karen Fann, Senator Steve Pierce, John Flynn, Dan Fraijo, Glen Hopkinson, State Forester Scott Hunt, Marlin Kuykendall, Amanda Marsh, Brendan McDonough, Lenora Nelson, Ben Palm, Rowle Simmons, Chuck Tidey and Darrell Willis.

The Site Board has created four subcommitees within the group to work on specific tasks. The Fundraising Committee consists of John Flynn (Chairman), Amanda Marsh and Roxanne Warneke; The Design Committee consists of Glenn Hopkinson (Chairman), Chuck Tidey, Darrell Willis, Deborah Pfingston, Geri Ann Boyd, Pete Gordon, William Neal Gauslow, Michael King and James Iacovacci; The Access Committee consists of Ben Palm (Chairman), Lenora Nelson, Max Masel, Bill Boyd, Jay Ream and Michael King; and the Maintenance and Preservation Committee consists of Rowle Simmons (Chairman), Dan Fraijo and Aaron Green.

For information call Arizona State Parks at (602) 542-1996, email pio(at)azstateparks.gov or visit http://Yarnellhillmemorialfund.org.


Reader Comments(0)