Western Outdoor Times - Times Spent Outdoors: Priceless!

http://halesmarineservices.com/

By WDFW 

Razor Clam Digging BeginS Jan. 17

 

January 15, 2015



OLYMPIA – State fishery managers have given the OK for a second razor clam dig this month, this one scheduled from Jan. 17 through Jan. 24 on evening tides at various ocean beaches.

The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) approved the eight-day dig after marine toxin tests showed the clams are safe to eat.

Low afternoon tides the first few days will allow diggers to hit the beaches in daylight, said Dan Ayres, WDFW coastal shellfish manager. The best digging typically occurs one to two hours before low tide. No digging is allowed at any beach before noon.

Ayres noted the dig includes the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday on Jan. 19, providing an excellent opportunity to sneak away to the coast for a long weekend of clamming.

Under state law, diggers are required to keep the first 15 clams they dig. Each digger's clams must be kept in a separate container.

Digging has been approved on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

Jan. 17, Saturday; 4:15 p.m., 0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis

Jan. 18, Sunday; 5:02 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Jan. 19, Monday; 5:47 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Jan. 20, Tuesday; 6:30 p.m., -1.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Jan. 21, Wednesday; 7:13 p.m., -1.4 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Jan. 22, Thursday; 7:56 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Jan. 23, Friday; 8:40 p.m., -0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Jan. 24, Saturday; 9:25 p.m., 0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis

WDFW also has proposed another dig in late January, tentatively set to begin Jan. 30 if marine toxin tests are favorable. That dig is tentatively scheduled on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

Jan. 30, Friday; 3:43 p.m., 0.5 feet Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Jan. 31, Saturday; 4:32 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis

Feb. 1, Sunday; 5:15 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks

Feb. 2, Monday; 5:53 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Feb. 3, Tuesday; 6:27 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Feb. 4, Wednesday; 6:59 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Feb. 5, Thursday; 7:30 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

Feb. 6, Friday; 8:00 p.m., 0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2014-15 Fishing License to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination Fishing License, are available on WDFW's website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

WDFW has razor clam recipes as well as advice on digging and cleaning clams on its webpage at http://wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/razorclams/ .


 

Reader Comments(0)

 
 
Descale-It

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 07/24/2021 03:49