Congratulations To America's Cup Winner: Team Oracle


October 15, 2013

It’s been called “one of the greatest comebacks in sports history.” Oracle Team USA has won the America’s Cup with its final winner-take-all Race 19 on San Francisco Bay Sept. 25.

It looked as if New Zealand would be the victors as the Kiwis had eight wins as of Sept. 18, but Jimmy Spithill steered Oracle’s high-tech 72-foot catamaran to its own eighth- straight victory and crossed the finish line just seconds before Emirates Team New Zealand.

This is the first crew to win eight races in a row in an America’s Cup match. Previously, there were three five-race winning streaks, but that was when the America’s Cup was the best out of nine. Begun as the best-of-17, Oracle needed 11 victories, as it had been penalized two points for illegally modifying boats in warm-up regattas.

Sun Valley Fiber-Glas

The 2013 America’s Cup, which was number 34, had all the tension of the 1983 regatta; it was then that Australia II came back from a 3-1 deficit to beat U.S.A.’s Dennis Conner and end New York Yacht Club’s 132-year winning streak.

USA VICTORY! -- BMW Oracle's USA-17 is shown here training off Valencia, Spain in late January 2010. Oracle Team USA won the America’s Cup with its final winner-take-all Race 19 on San Francisco Bay Sept. 25.

From an historical perspective, it was 1851 when the schooner America, representing the youthful New York Yacht Club, beat the British, winning the Royal Yacht Squadron’s 100 Guinea Cup off the coast of England.

Since that victory, 162 years have passed and only four nations — the United States, Australia, New Zealand, and Switzerland — have won the America’s Cup, considered by some to be the oldest trophy in international sports.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 06/14/2022 20:45